top of page

First Week Home With Baby: 5 Things I Wish I Was Prepared For!


The moment I have been anxiously/impatiently waiting for... My darling daughter is finally here! This is the very moment us mommies never forget. We finally get to look into the eyes we have been longing to get lost in, feel the touch of your finger to your baby's soft skin. All of the firsts we welcome with open arms, and unfortunately... those of which we do NOT welcome are to follow shortly (promptly) after!

Along with the bundled blessing I have just brought home there is a list of things I only wish I were prepared for!

1.) Sleep Deprivation! - Looking back on the hospital stay I was beyond anxious. My husband was sleeping soundly the night before delivery while I couldn't sleep at all! My mind was playing out the events that would happen in the following hours such as seeing my baby for the first time, the hunger pains from my ice chip diet the nurses had put me on, and not to mention all the machine hookups connected to me making it difficult to get comfortable! Once the baby arrived I definitely couldn't sleep, not because of her but because I didn't allow myself to miss any moment of the first few hours of her life... I was amazed to say the least. The first few following days I couldn't hold a conversation, keep my eyes open to reply to all the texts I was receiving from those checking in on us, I could hardly drive anywhere so I stayed home! My warning to myself for baby number 2 is GET THE REST/TAKE THE HELP!!!!! Because once you get home.... You're limited LOL!!!

2.) Parenting Did Not Magically Click In! - I'll be the honest mother and say there were no instincts that *snap of a finger* came to me other than breastfeeding.. just let her latch and done! When it came to the "what to do" moments I was clueless, nervous, and fearful... I was calling all the doctors, lactation nurses, anyone who would answer my pleas for help basically. My husband took a lot of the new baby load for the first weeks he was home with us. Bless him for that!

With that being said we come to my third point...

3.) " Fragile" Fears - After the 9 months of agony waiting to hold my baby girl I finally got that sweet, memorable moment! But when it came to the stuff AFTER that... (i.e. the changing of her clothes, diapers, or even putting a hat/bow on her head) I was terrified of breaking her! HUBBY HANDLED ALL OF THAT AT FIRST TOO LOL!!!!

4.) Actually wanting people over! - While I was pregnant I consistently said I wanted the alone time with just me, daddy and the baby. Once my husband started going back to work I felt a need to have someone over for emotional support! Any kind of support really, I was scared I wouldn't be able to do anything right by myself... solo dolo... Not to say I thought I was a bad mother, I feel like I just had the typical first time mom fears when in reality I should have just enjoyed the new moments and trusted in myself!

5.)POSTPARTUM PAINS!!! - I only save the BEST for last!!! Let me just say the movies didn't make this too accurate either. I can honestly say I would go through labor and delivery over again before ever having the postpartum healing process EVER AGAIN. Now, don't get me wrong... some women DO have easy breezy PP healing - That Peri bottle works wonders, the numbing spray is a God send... That wasn't the case for me. I didn't want to use the bathroom ever again for all I cared, it was HORRIBLE! If I heard "are you using the Peri bottle?" I was going to smack someone with it LOL!

My biggest advice to not only myself, but to other first time mommies is if you feel pain thats more than that Peri bottle of water can fix please don't let anyone tell you its normal! I had to tell my doctor twice I didn't feel like this was a normal thing based off what fellow mommy friends telling me it shouldn't be THAT TERRIBLE.. But you don't know what to expect the first time around, and it's hard for others to judge YOUR BODY from the outside! Always follow up with your doctor if anything is different after delivery - and don't be scared to be persistent... I promise you they've dealt with worse hormonal women (Like me).

Okay guys!! I hope y'all enjoyed this read - - and my Texan vocabulary!!

Comment below and share your postpartum stories with me! I'll get my glass of wine ready!! XOXO

bottom of page